Spreading the Love

By Amy

A few weeks ago, Will and I were invited to a neighboring area to visit students at an Islamic boarding school.  Neither of us were really thrilled with the idea of getting up early on a Sunday, which is our only day off. However when we got there, and saw the numerous banners they made for us and the enthusiasm of the students, we forgot about our reluctance.

Following a welcoming ceremony, Will and I each taught a class for a scheduled 80 minutes, but the students didn’t want us to stop. I taught an extra 40 minutes and Will taught an extra hour. The kids were smart, engaged and very advanced in their English skills. They are required to speak only English or Arabic at all times.

After we taught, the teachers who had invited us took us (along with the English teacher who accompanied and drove us from my school) to lunch for grilled fish which was outstanding. When we were washing our hands after the meal I asked Will if the lunch had made up for me roping him into getting up at 6:00 on a Sunday.  He said “yeah, and maybe the enthusiasm of the kids.”

“Really?” I responded?

“Maybe a little” he said with a smile.

4 thoughts on “Spreading the Love

  1. You two make my heart smile.  I am so happy for and proud of you.

    “I’m SOOOO in Love with you two!”

    Peace

    Brenda

    Lighthouses blow no horns; they only shine.–D. L. Moody

Leave a Reply

